Qu'est-ce que le LASIK

Le Laser-Assisted In Situ Keratomileusis (LASIK) est la chirurgie laser la plus courante. Il est utilisé pour la myopie, l’hypermétropie et l’astigmatisme. 

La procédure LASIK

Le LASIK est une technique très précise visant à donner une nouvelle forme à la cornée (la surface claire de l’œil, devant l’iris coloré) afin de corriger un problème réfractif.  Il s’agit d’un laser guidé par informatique, programmé sur la base d’une série de mesures rigoureuses effectuées pendant l’évaluation qui précède la chirurgie. Pendant le LASIK, aucun instrument chirurgical ne pénètre dans l’œil lui-même, ce qui limite le risque d’infection. Voir les informations détaillées ici pour plus d’informations sur ce qui se passera avant, pendant et après le LASIK.

Le LASIK n’est pas très douloureux et les patients recouvrent généralement rapidement la vue. Comme toutes les procédures chirurgicales, le LASIK comporte des risques et des complications potentielles qui varient d'une personne à  l’autre. Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations. Vous devriez discuter de votre profil risques/avantages avec votre chirurgien avant de vous décider pour le LASIK.

Généralement, un seul traitement offrira le résultat désiré et vous serez capable d’effectuer la plupart des activités quotidiennes sans lunettes ou lentilles de contact. Cependant, il est possible que des lunettes de lecture ou des lentilles correctives soient toujours nécessaires pour certaines activités.

What is LASIK

Laser-Assisted In Situ Keratomileusis (LASIK) is the most commonly-performed type of laser surgery to correct short-sight (myopia), long-sight (hyperopia) and astigmatism. It has been widely performed since the mid 1990s and it is estimated that 3.5 million LASIK surgeries are performed every year in Europe.

The LASIK procedure

LASIK is a very precise technique to reshape the cornea (the clear surface of the eye in front of the coloured iris) to correct a refractive error. It involves a computer-guided laser that is programmed based on a series of very precise measurements made during the pre-surgery assessment. During LASIK, no surgical instruments enter the eye itself, so there is a low risk of infection. See the detailed information here (link to The LASIK experience page) for more information on what will happen before, during and after LASIK.

LASIK causes minimal pain and vision generally recovers quickly. Like all surgical procedures, LASIK does have risks and potential complications and these will vary from person to person. Click here (link to side effects section) for more information. You should discuss your own risk/benefit profile with your surgeon before deciding to go ahead with LASIK.

In most cases, a single treatment will achieve the desired outcome leaving you able to carry out most daily activities without glasses or contact lenses. However, there is a possibility that you may still need to wear reading glasses or corrective lenses for some activities.